Managing VSocial Users

Overview

Users can be created and each User will have its set of permissions that can differ from other users.

The designated Administrator will have the right to manage users' access to VSocial from his/her organization.

 

Getting Started

Only Administrators will be able to see the "Settings" tab. Locate it, and click it.

 9-10-2013_10-19-00_AM.jpg

This will load up the settings page for VSocial. At this time, the only Settings available is the user management.

Once you click on "VSocial User Accounts" from the Settings tab, you will see a user listing like below.

 9-10-2013_10-23-04_AM.jpg

The 5 identified items are:

  1. User's general information (Name, Email)
  2. User's account status - Enabled or Disabled (disabled accounts cannot log into VSocial)
  3. A list of VSocial Applications the User has access to.
  4. Edit button to edit the user's settings
  5. Create New User button to create a new user.

 

Adding New Users

To add a new user to the system, find the Create New User link at the bottom of the user listing. Once clicked, it will show an Add User form.

The Add User view is generally split into 4 sections:

  1. User Information
  2. VSocial Application Access Settings
  3. VSocial Application Permissions Settings
  4. VSocial Group membership

It is important to note the difference between "Application Access" and "Application Permissions".

  • Application Access - If selected, the User will be able to view and click on the tab for the application, i.e. "Community Manager"
  • Application Permissions - Application-specific permissions. For the cases of Fan Insights and User Insights, there are no special permissions. Once a user is given Access to these two Applications, the user will be able to access all features. In the case of Settings and Community Manager, special settings can be given.

Start off by filling out the User Information section near the top. You'll need to provide the User's Name, User's Email and Status (Enabled / Disabled). Please be sure to provide a valid Email address as this will be used for Notifications once this feature is released later.

 

Next, select which VSocial Applications you want the User to have access to. In most cases you will not want to give the user access to Settings. Only give Users you wish to be able to administer other users this access. Scroll down to read more about Assigning Administrator Rights.

 9-10-2013_10-30-56_AM.jpg

In this example, this User is given access to Dashboard, Reports, and Community Manager.

Finally, specify the Application-specific permissions. This section only covers the permissions for Community Manager. For Administrator Settings, please scroll down to Assigning Administrator Rights.

 9-10-2013_10-08-35_AM.jpg

Community Manager permissions are split into 3 different sections:

  1. Roles
  2. Permissions
  3. Accounts

For more information, take a look at the VSocial Community Manager User Permissions article.

When you click Save Changes, the new user will receive an invitation email where the user will be able to complete the signup. For more information, read the following article: Logging into VSocial

Group Membership

Users can be added to Groups in two ways. Here, the user that we're adding/editing can be added to one or more groups by "checking" the box next to the groups shown at the bottom of the Add/Edit User form.

 9-10-2013_10-37-44_AM.jpg

Above, you can see this User being added to the group "Sales".

Users added to a Group will inherit the group's permissions. Care will need to be taken: users should be inadvertently added to a group that may provide more permissions that is intended for that user.

 

Editing Existing Users

To edit an existing user, simply find the User in the listing, and press the "Edit" link to the right. The page should automatically scroll all the way down to the Edit User form. If it does not, please scroll down to the bottom.

The Edit User form is identical to the Add User form described in the previous section.

 

Removing Users

To remove a user, you may first want to consider Disabling the user. To do so, find the user, press "Edit", change the Status dropdown to "Disabled", and then click "Save Changes" at the bottom of the form.

If you really want to remove a user, you can start by Editing the user, and the locating the "Delete" button at the bottom of the form. Press it, and the user should now be removed.

 

Assigning Administrator Rights

Assigning user administration rights is a two step process.

First, you need to either edit an existing user, or create a new one.

Next, in the Application Access section, you'll need to check the box next to "Settings" to give the user access to the Settings tab.

 9-10-2013_10-39-33_AM.jpg

Finally, in Application Permissions for Settings, you need to give the desired rights to the user.

9-10-2013_10-39-28_AM.jpg

If you want to give the user rights to manage Users and Groups, be sure to check the boxes next to "Create/Edit Accounts" and "Create/Edit Groups".

Once you check these two boxes, the User, after logging back in, will be able to see the Settings tab, and manage users.

Note: Keep in mind that Users will only be able to assign permissions to other users to the Accounts and Permissions the user himself has rights to.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments