Managing Conversations With a Team - Conversation Locks

Overview

To eliminate the possibility of multiple users accessing the same conversation at the same time (and potentially replying at the same time!), Conversations are "Locked" by the VSocial User currently authoring a reply.

Locks Automatically Obtained

9-9-2013_10-10-48_PM.jpg

As shown in the screenshot above, the Lock is only valid for a period of time, and the time left will be shown, counting down.

By default, Locks are valid for 3 minutes. This  can be changed on a client level - for inquiries, please contact your VSocial Account Manager.

As you keep authoring your reply, the lock will automatically extend back to the 3 minutes at various times.

As the time counts down, there are 2 milestones where the message will change before the time runs out.

1 Minute* To Go

When 1 minute is left, a manual Extend Now link will be added to the message. Clicking this will manually extend the lock.

9-9-2013_10-10-48_PM.jpg

* This time will change if a custom time interval is configured for a client's installation.

30 Seconds* To Go

When 30 seconds are left, the message will change giving the sense of urgency to the User. They should really consider extending the lock before the lock expires.

9-9-2013_10-10-48_PM.jpg

* This time will change if a custom time interval is configured for a client's installation.

Lock Expired

When the lock expires, the text area for the reply will be disabled. The user can either click on the Reclaim link, or simply attempt to continue typing the response to attempt to reclaim the lock.

9-9-2013_10-10-48_PM.jpg

Unable to Obtain Lock Held By Someone Else

When attempting to get a Reply to a Conversation and obtaining a Lock, or reclaiming a lost lock, It is possible that another user has claimed the Lock during this time. If this happens, then the following message will appear:

9-9-2013_10-42-20_PM.jpg

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments